Blast from the Past

Earlier this week something interesting happened. I was just returning from a run when my eyes caught 2 people sitting in one car just outside my apartment building. Person number 1, Mr Y a fellow Foundation Doctor whom I already know.

Person number 2:-

  1. God he looks so damn familiar.
  2. He looks a lot like Mr J from college in Malaysia.

Instead of rushing over the car and checking if he is who I think he is (like a crazy person I might add), I chose to “Nah…. it can’t be him, I’m in UK, what are the odds.”

Went back to my room, got changed to go for grocery shopping, and I was called as I was leaving the building.

“Tay !” (Yes that’s what people call me in real life)

It wasn’t Person Number 2 called me. It was Mr Y. But the one rushing forward was Person Number 2.

“Mr J ??!!” I responded.

A smile broke on his face. Huge relief it seems that I recognised him. Probably he thought the same thing and that he might mistaken me for someone else. Which would be embarrassing the fact that Mr Y got involved too.

Then the usual, conversation whenever you meet somebody that you haven’t met in a long time or wasn’t expecting to meet began. It was kinda nice. Had to explain my college story and major events that made me so memorable (more like my flat mates who made it unforgettable) to Mr Y and my other friend who was going for groceries too. 4 people, standing in the cold, outside of an apartment building, in the middle of an evening, having a chat.

It turned out, Mr J is a graduate from Cardiff University and friends with Mr Y. And by sheer luck, he visited Mr Y and I came back from a run at the same time. Two unlikely event coming together making it an even more unlikely event (Yes, I don’t run often enough).

After a short conversation and goodbyes, both parties got on with the day.

Truth to be told, I was glad I was approached. There was a good chance that it wouldn’t have happened and there would be no story to be told. Mr J made me very nostalgic that day. The good kind.

I got a text later that day which read,

“haha already friends on Facebook! cu around then.” Mr J in Facebook Messenger.

I guess he was happy that we met too.

Thanks, Mr J. And I’m sorry I didn’t approach your car like a crazy person but would have made the story more awesome.

And as always, pictures from Llanishen Reservoir that day.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

